阅读有关比特币(BTC)的新项目报告-世界上最大的加密货币
Go

logoTezos (XTZ)

一个自我修正的加密账本
  • Tezos 是一个支持智能合同和 dapps 的区块链平台,基于数字联邦的理念,以一种高效、可持续的民主化方式进行治理,从而避免出现硬分叉。
  • 2017 年,Tezos 首次代币发行募集了 2.32 亿美元的比特币和以太坊,是行业最大规模的首次代币发行。总部位于瑞士的Tezos 基金会带头努力更广泛地采用该协议。
  • 在 Tezos 网络中,XTZ 是用于一切运营的代币。随着诸如流动性权益证明以及链上治理等功能的融入,吞吐量的提升也带来了更高层次的去中心化。
  • Tezos 采用了完全支持图灵完备合约的流动性权益证明(LPoS)。在 Tezos 网络中,区块生成的过程被称为烘焙,而验证者被称为烘焙师

1. 什么是 Tezos (XTZ)?

Tezos 的核心功能包括:

  • 流动性权益证明 (LPoS): Tezos 采用权益证明共识机制,最大限度地使治理去中心化,并鼓励所有 XTZ 持有人广泛参与进来。在 LPoS 的共识机制下,验证者是流动的,可以随着网络而扩展,并且允许权益所有者将权益委托给其他人。
  • 链上治理: 所有的权益者都可以直接或通过委托间接参与到协议治理中来。权益者可以通过一个投票周期的程序来提出修正案,最后达成协议。
  • 自我修正: 该协议能够通过“自我升级”从而避免将网络分叉成两个不同的区块链。对协议进行修正的决定完全来自社区中的权益者并且通过链上治理过程来实施。自我修正旨在减少更改协议的协调成本和执行成本,并促进网络迭代之间的平滑过渡。

2. Tezos 的主要特征

为了减少许多区块链协议所面临的治理问题,Tezos 首创了一些功能,并且这些功能其实都早已根植于共识算法中。流动性权益证明(LPoS)主要是为了将 Tezos 与 EOS 或者 NEO 这种采用委托权益证明(DPoS) 共识的区块链区分开来。DPoS 区块链是将区块生成的权利平均分给一组活跃的区块生产者;而 LPoS 则会根据每个验证者持有的股权比例分配区块链生产的几率,并且系统中烘焙师的数量不受限制。

流动性权益证明

Tezos 使用通胀区块奖励与交易费用来激励验证者(在 Tezos 中被称为“烘焙师”)参与到共识机制中来。烘焙师们贡献他们的算力来对交易进行验证。要参与到共识机制中来,烘焙师必须拥有至少 8,000 XTZ (或者说 1 个卷)。卷将在烘焙师的级别上被汇总,这意味着烘焙师的烘焙能力与所持有的代币(XTZ)数量成正比,当不足一卷时,向下取整。烘焙师所持有的卷数越多,其烘焙出下一个区块的机率就越大。

烘焙师与背书人(指检查区块有效性的烘焙师)在每一轮周期(大约每 3 天或者 4096 个区块)被随机选择。烘焙权也存在优先顺序,这优先级同样是由每个区块的协议随机选择的。如果指定的烘焙师未能在一分钟内广播一个区块,则这一区块就分配给下一个优先烘焙师。每个区块都会被另外 32 位随机指定的烘焙师进行背书(见证该区块并检查其合法性)。所有的烘焙师与背书人必须要为他们所要验证的每个区块存一笔抵押金。

如果存在恶意行为,则抵押金会被没收。除了交易费用外,每烘焙出一个区块,烘焙人会收到 40 XTZ 的奖励,背书人会收到 1.25 XTZ 的奖励。

流动性权益证明使 XTZ 持有人将验证权利转移或者委托给其它代币持有人而不需要转移代币所有权。如果某人拥有 8,000 XTZ (1 卷)但不想直接参与烘焙,他就可以将代币委托给一个烘焙师,该烘焙师也可以因此获得更高的区块验证机率。然后烘焙师将参与共识而获得的收益(除了常规收费之外)分享部分给委托代币者。烘焙师们可以通过收取更低的烘焙委托费来竞争获取到代币持有人的 XTZ。见烘焙服务汇总, 币安权益委托不收取烘焙费

链上治理与自我修正

链上治理是一种用来促进 Tezos 区块链自我修正功能的机制。Tezos 采用这一系统,除了通过投票过程使协议本身的进化民主化(避免硬分叉),还通过奖励开发者的代码贡献来激励他们。

自我修正减少了硬分叉相关的中断和成本,与此同时,也为无缝地、民主地整合创新变革开辟了道路。

自我修正过程分为四个阶段:提案阶端、探索投票阶段、测试阶段与晋升投票阶段。每一时期又分为 8 个烘焙周期(32,768 个区块或者大约 22 天,18 个小时)。也就是说从提案到激活差不多是 3 个月的时间。下面是每个时期的详情:

  • 提案阶段: 委托人(烘焙师)提交修正案。在提案阶段截止时选择支持人数最多的提案。如果出现没有提案或者两个提案支持人数均等的情况,则重新进行提案。

探索投票阶段: 委托人投票决定是否对提案进行测试。探索投票阶段结束时,如果参与投票人数达到法定人数,并且支持提案的占绝对多数 (支持人数达 8/10 以上),则进入测试阶段。

测试阶段: 测试链会被分叉 48 个小时以测试提出的变动。在此之后将进入最终投票阶段。

晋升投票阶段: 委托人可以每人投一票以促使测试网络晋升为主网。如果绝大多数权益人都同意了,则测试网络就可以作为主网被激活。

作为网络中最主要的参与者,烘焙师也要在正式升级过程中进行投票。投票权利的大小会依据每次投票初期烘焙师所质押的卷数来决定,具体是这样的:1 票 =1 卷 =8,000 XTZ。这一规则适用于所有的投票期。投票时,委托人可以选择赞成反对或者弃权。只有当某一选择达到绝对多数且参与人数达到法定人数时,投票结果才算有效。根据流动性权益证明背后的去中心化精神,XTZ 持有人可以选择与其投票意见相同的烘焙师进行委托,从而使其能够作为自己的代表。

3. 通证经济与供应分配

2017 年 7 月份,Tezos 通过首次代币发行募集了价值 2.32 亿美元的比特币与以太币,称为行业中最大的首次代币发行。创世区块始于 2018 年 6 月,共有 6.08 亿 XTZ 进入流通;当前依然没有供应上限。

在 Carthage 2.0 升级协议下,Tezos 的出块时间为 1 分钟,当前年度通胀为 3,6%

XTZ 之前的通胀率为 5.5%。平均交易费用为 $0.00232. 当前 80% 供应都被质押,当前流通供应量为 704,111,107 XTZ (截止到 2020 年 3 月份)。

4. 项目团队

位于瑞士的 Tezos 基金会,负责协议的升级与管理。基金会由理事会、执行委员会、审计委员会、投资委员会、技术咨询委员会以及提名委员共 6 个委员会组成;他们分别负责基金会不同的事务。

以下列表中包含了当前执行委员会的成员,他们负责 Tezos 基金会的运营管理。

Ryan Jesperson
基金会理事会主席 / 总经理
Ryan曾是金融科技公司DivvyPay的首席运营官。他拥有杜克大学富科商学院(Fuqua School of Business at Duke University)的MBA学位。
Hubertus Thonhauiser
商务拓展全球负责人
Hubertus 是 Enabling Future 的任事股东;这是一家有家族背景的风投公司,主要投资能够创造社会影响力的科技公司
Ulrich Sauter
总理事
Ulrich 是一位在资本市场、金融产品以及公司法领域有着 23 年经验的资深律师
Ryan Lackey
首席安全官
Ryan 管理着基金会的加密货币股份与质押运营的安全需求、各种生态系统参与者以及公共网络上的产品安全输入
Roman Schnider
首席财务官兼运营总裁
Roman 曾在一家专注于 PwC 的投资银行作为审计与咨询人员任职超过 10 年。他打造了瑞士普华永道的加密审计实践并曾服务于瑞士、德国以及澳大利亚的大型金融机构

5. 其他参考资料

Read Our New Project Report About Bitcoin (BTC) - The World's Largest Cryptocurrency
Go

logoTezos (XTZ)

A Self-Amending Crypto-Ledger.
  • Tezos is a blockchain platform that supports smart contracts and dapps, based on the idea of a digital commonwealth, in which governance is democratized in an efficient and sustainable manner to avoid costly hard-fork scenarios.
  • In 2017, the Tezos ICO raised $232 million in BTC and ETH, making it one of the largest ICOs in the industry. Based in Switzerland, the Tezos Foundation spearheads efforts to support wider adoption of the protocol.
  • Within the network, XTZ is the token used for all operations. With the incorporation of features such as Liquid Proof-of-Stake and on-chain governance, throughput is traded for a higher level of decentralization.
  • Tezos relies on Liquid Proof of Stake (LPoS), with full support of Turing-complete contracts. In the Tezos network, block generation is referred to as baking while validators are known as bakers.

1. What is Tezos (XTZ)?

Tezos’ core feature include:

  • Liquid Proof-of-Stake (LPoS): Tezos employs a Proof-of-Stake consensus mechanism designed to maximize decentralization of governance and encourage participation among XTZ holders of all sizes. LPoS maintains a dynamic set of validators that can expand with the network, and allows stakeholders to delegate rights to other holders.
  • On-chain governance: All stakeholders can participate in protocol governance either directly or indirectly, through delegation. An election cycle provides a procedure for stakeholders to propose amendments and reach an agreement.
  • Self-amendment: The protocol can “upgrade itself” without having to fork the network into two different blockchains. Decisions to change facets of the protocol come from within the community of stakeholders and are implemented through the on-chain governance process. Self-amendment is designed to reduce coordination and execution costs for protocol changes and facilitate a smoother transition between network iterations.

2. Key Features of Tezos

To mitigate the governance issues faced by many blockchain protocols, Tezos employs a number of pioneering features, which are rooted first and foremost in the underlying consensus algorithm. The term Liquid Proof of Stake was chosen to differentiate the model employed by Tezos from Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS) chains such as EOS or NEO. While DPoS blockchains split block production rights evenly between a set of active block producers, LPoS assigns the probability of block production based on the proportion of stake held by each validator; and there is no limit to the number of bakers in the system.

Liquid Proof of Stake

Tezos uses inflationary block rewards and transaction fees to incentivize validators (or “bakers” in Tezos terminology) to participate in consensus. Bakers contribute their computing power to the network to validate transactions. To participate, bakers must own at least 8,000 XTZ (or 1 roll). Rolls are aggregated at the baker level, which means a baker’s baking power is proportional to the number of tokens (or “tez”) held, rounded down to the nearest roll. The more rolls held by a baker, the higher the chance they will bake the next block.

Bakers and Endorsers (i.e., bakers that check block validity) are chosen randomly every cycle (approximately every three days or 4096 blocks). Baking rights also follow a priority order, which is randomly selected by the protocol per block. Should an appointed baker fail to broadcast a block within a one minute time frame, responsibility shifts to the second baker on the priority list. Each block is baked, and then endorsed (witness the block and checked that it was valid) by 32 other randomly assigned bakers. All Bakers and those endorsing must post a deposit for each block in which they play a role validating.

This deposit is forfeited if any malicious activity occurs. An award of 40 XTZ is awarded for baking a block, in addition to the sum of the transaction fees. Meanwhile, each Endorser is awarded 1.25 XTZ per block.

Liquid Proof of Stake allows XTZ holders to transfer, or delegate, validation rights to other token holders without transferring token ownership. Holders who possess 8,000 XTZ (1 roll) but do not wish to participate directly in baking can simply allocate their holdings to a baker, which in turn grants that baker a higher probability of validating blocks. The baker then shares a portion of the revenue received for participating in consensus (in addition to collecting a fee) with all token holders who delegated tokens. Bakers compete for holders’ XTZ by charging lower fees than others. An aggregated list of baking services is available here. Binance Staking supports Tezos staking with no baking fee.

Onchain Governance and Self-Amendment

On-chain governance is a mechanism for facilitating the self-amending feature of the Tezos blockchain. Tezos employs this system to incentivize developers by rewarding them for their contributions, in addition to democratizing the evolution of the protocol itself through the voting process, which provides a viable alternative path to a hard fork.

Self-amendment is implemented to reduce the disruption and costs associated with hard forks, while simultaneously opening an avenue to seamlessly and democratically integrate innovative changes.

The self-amendment process is split into four periods: the Proposal Period, Exploration Vote Period, Testing Period and Promotion Vote Period. Each of these four periods lasts eight baking cycles (i.e., 32,768 blocks or roughly 22 days, 18 hours), which is approximately three months from proposal to activation. A more detailed breakdown of each period follows:

  • Proposal Period: delegates(bakers) submit protocol amendment proposals. At the end of the proposal period, the proposal with most supporters is selected. If there are no proposals or there is a tie, a new proposal period starts.
  • Exploration Vote Period: delegates vote whether to test the winning proposal. At the end of an exploration vote period, if participation reaches the quorum (what is a quorum) and the proposal has a supermajority (8/10 Yay or Nay votes) in favor, the process moves to the testing period.
  • Testing period: a test chain is forked for 48 hours to test the proposed change. Following this period, the final voting period begins.
  • Promotion Vote Period: delegates can cast one vote to promote the testnet chain to the mainnet. If a supermajority is met, the testnet is activated as mainnet.

As the primary actors maintaining the network, bakers also are responsible for casting votes in the formal upgrade process. Voting rights are assigned to baker delegates based on the number of rolls in their stake at the beginning of each voting period as follows: 1 vote = 1 roll = 8,000 XTZ. Both voting periods function in the same manner. During the vote period, a delegate can cast a single Yea, Nay,or Pass. A vote is only successful if a. It has a supermajority and b. the participation reaches the current quorum. In line with the decentralized ethos underlying Liquid Proof of Stake, XTZ holders can choose a baker whose vote is aligned with theirs and delegate their stake, thereby electing a representative on their behalf.

3. Economics and Supply Distribution

In July 2017, Tezos raised $232 million in BTC and ETH through an Initial Coin Offering, making it one of the largest ICOs in the industry. The genesis block began in June 2018, with 608 million XTZ entering into circulation; it maintains no supply cap at this moment.

Tezos’ block time is one minute and the current annual inflation is 3.6%, implemented with the Carthage 2.0 upgrade.

The previous inflation rate of XTZ was 5.5%. The average transaction fee stands at $0.00232. Nearly 80% of the current supply is staked and the current circulating supply is 704,111,107 XTZ (as of March 2020).

4. Project Team

The Tezos Foundation, based in Switzerland, is responsible for the promotion and management of the protocol. The Foundation is subdivided into six committees which focus on various respective facets. The foundation consists of the Foundation Council, Executive Committee, Audit Committee, Investment Committee, Technical Advisory Committee, and Nomination Committee.

The following list comprises the current members of the Executive Committee, who are responsible for the operational management of the Tezos Foundation.

Ryan Jesperson
Foundation Council President / GM
Ryan is a former Chief Operating Officer of DivvyPay, a FinTech company. He holds an MBA from the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University.
Hubertus Thonhauiser
Global Head of BD
Hubertus is Managing Partner of Enabling Future, a family office backed VC firm investing in social impact creating tech companies.
Ulrich Sauter
General Council
Ulrich has more than 23 years of experience as a lawyer primarily in capital markets, financial products and corporate law.
Ryan Lackey
Chief Security Officer
Ryan manages the security requirements of the Foundation’s cryptocurrency holdings and staking operations, various ecosystem participants, and product security input on the public network.
Roman Schnider
CFO and Head of Operations
Roman worked as an auditor and consultant with an Investment Banking focus at PwC for more than a decade. He built PwC Switzerland's Crypto Audit practice and served large financial institutions in Switzerland, Germany and Australia.

5. Additional resources